In 2009, in response to President Hu Jintao’s important speech marking the 30th Anniversary of the "Message to Taiwan Compatriots", and to give full play to the role of Hong Kong in the cause of national reunification, the “Hongkong Association for the Promotion of Peaceful Reunification of China” (HAPPRC) was founded.

The objectives of the Association are: to extensively contact and unite people from all walks of life in Hong Kong, fight against separatist movement such as “Taiwan Independence”,adhere to the One-China Principle, resolutely oppose “Taiwan Independence”, advocate the successful experience of “One Country, Two Systems”, develop a close relationship between Hong Kong and Taiwan, deepen exchanges between Hong Kong and Taiwan, maintain long-term prosperity and stability of Hong Kong, advance the peaceful development of Cross-Straits relations and promote the peaceful reunification of China at an early date.

The HAPPRC implements a System of Council Members with daily operations implied the Chairman responsibility system under the leadership of the Council. Leading members include: Patron Tung Chee-hwa, Vice-chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC); Executive Director Yu Sun-say, Standing Committee member of the CPPCC National Committee; Chairman Gao Gunter, Vice-chairman of the Committee of Education, Science, Culture, Health and Sports of the CPPCC National Committee; Supervisor-General Fok Chun-wan Ian, Deputy to the Nation People’s Congress (NPC); Secretary-General Lo Man-tuen, Vice-chairman of the Committee of Foreign Affairs of the CPPCC National Committee; Treasurer Wong Kwok Keung, CPPCC member and Legal Advisor Wong Kennedy Ying Ho, CPPCC member.

The HAPPRC has several NPC deputies and CPPCC members as its Chief Consultants, including Fan Hsu Lai Tai Rita and Leung Chun Ying. Quite a number of NPC deputies, CPPCC members and socialites serve as its Committee Advisers. With 7 Affiliations, the HAPPRC comprises a number of committees dealing with economic, cultural and external affairs.